Takeoffs and Landings.

image

My sister Whitney is landing here in Denver in just moments. I am patiently waiting in the holding lot, dressed in my cobalt blue pants (that I am currently obsessed with) & listening to Florence and the Machine. I can hardly wait to see her!! She has never flown alone, so i have been praying that all would be smooth so she will do this again 🙂
I love the airport. The hustle and bustle. The variety of people watching is unmatched. My routine is to check in early, buy my fashion magazine, maybe a coffee, and to plant myself in a seat near my gate. Let the runway show begin!! So many different clothing styles and hairstyles! Not in my magazine, but right there on the airport floor, a.k.a. The Catwalk. I could literally sit there for a week, just taking it all in. I am a shameless people watcher.

Once i am seated, i make sure i have my magazine, journal, & I-pod accessible. If the person next to me seems approachable, I greet them. If not, I still smile. Sometimes i get the huge guy that falls asleep on me and traps me by the window. Lovely. Or the chatty Cathy who loves me and wants me to know about every husband and every cat and every Golden Girls episode. Yes, that Blanche IS a wild one…Now and then, I get lucky! On my most recent flight from Seattle to Denver, I sat by the coolest 18 year old kid. We literally played hangman most of the time, at his request, during which he used all words from his recent SAT grammar test. He showed me ski routes he had mapped out and I educated him on Ryan Adams and the 80’s…ha ha ha…
On another recent flight to Calgary, Alberta, I was seated and pretty sleepy, as the flight left  brutally early. I was sleepy eyed and lost in an article about Dubstep, when he sat down. Joe. He was tall and handsome. Smart. Musician. Funny. As we conversed, I learned he only lived a few blocks away from where i had just moved from in Ballard. We drank at the same coffee shop. We had the same favorite tavern. We grocery shopped at the same place and he also rode his bike around the neighborhood. Handsome Joe. He asked for my number, which i am still surprised i gave him…he waited for me at luggage & after customs. Joe thinks i am in Colorado long term and, therefore, he will probably not call. Such is life.

I wonder who Whitney sat next to, who she saw, what she drank on the plane, and if she likes the airport as much as I do…time to find out…

Live your life brilliantly!!

One thought on “Takeoffs and Landings.

Leave a comment