What To Wear Wednesdays: Pastels

Hello again!!

I heart fashion. Plain and simple. As a little girl, you could find me sitting on the floor of my mama’s closet, trying on her boots and skirts. My favorite was a Laura Ashley skirt she purchased in London. It was red with pink and coral flowers all over it-it was love at first sight. I also loved lipstick and nail polish at an early age. Saturday nights were bath and nail painting parties with my mama, sister, and whatever friends were spending the night. It always felt magical. My mama is a woman of style, to say the least. She is a hairstylist, seamstress, painter, knitter, makeup artist extraordinaire. My sister and I have followed very closely in her steps. Everything she touches turns to gold, I swear it. My grandmothers on both the Atchley and Smith sides have an amazing sense of style and accessorizing as well, so we get it from no strangers. It’s in our blood to dress to impress!! Ha ha…

I had been scheming some about a fashion portion of the blog and what that would look like. My dearest Karla, whom I adore thrifting and dreaming with, brought up a “What to Wear Wednesdays” segment over coffee at Poor Richards. I immediately fell in love with the idea and, well…here we are, you, me, and the world of fashion. I’m stoked!!!

As part of my “throw comparison out the window”, I have decided that if I love it, I’m going to wear it. I was shopping with my friend Shauna last week and decided, I MUST find those insane coral pants in my size. She helped me hunt them down and I sported them to the Ryan Adams show in Denver that very evening. Paired with a black flowy tank, pointed black shoes, a cream sweater, a coral toned lipstick, and my hair pinned up, I was rocking those pants, not caring who saw. I love them.

This sets the tone for this weeks What to Wear Wednesday which is about…Pastels.

Most people imagine a sickening pink Barbie, those adorable little candy coated Mini Eggs from Easter, or Pepto Bismol. I am here to reassure you that pastels, in fact, are ultra cool and insanely popular in all of the upcoming spring lines. Now, I do not always dress in what’s typically “in”, but I am digging the idea of pastel. I just bought this dress at Target in Boulder and CANNOT wait for it to be warm enough to wear it:

The background is Sea Foam Green and the leaves are Yellow and Light Green. There are also little Coral butterflies and Orange parrots on it. It’s stinkin adorable…

Here are other inspiring pastels:

These images are from the 2012 Louis Vuitton line. I ADORE these pictures. I ADORE  carousels as well, side note. It is right up there with my love for candy shops…I’m a sucker for color. I like the whimsical approach in his line. It bring out the little girl side of my style. Very cotton candy and conversation sweethearts. Plus, Louis does everything so stylish and classic-very timeless.

When I think of pastels and, especially “eye candy”, I think of the movie Marie Antoinette. It is FULL of dusty pastel and daydream imagery. Little cakes and shoes that look frosted fill your gaze and you are swept away into this fashion fantasy. We all know the story ends unhappily, so, for now, we will just key on the fashions 🙂 .

In my search, I also found this sweetie pie picture of Taylor Swift. This little Southern belle makes me smile!! She is so sunshiny and wears some pretty great things. The peach and the red lips looks so feminine and lovely. I will be stealing this combination, Taylor.

Another trend I love is pastel in makeup. You have to be very careful with pastels on or near your face. They can easily wash you out or be too muted, depending on your skin tone. These are both very tastefully executed, in my opinion. Just enough and so becoming!!

Also, like i mentioned earlier, I am really loving these pastel pants. I know some people shy away from these, but I think they are awesome and will more than likely find another pair or two. Please note: these shoe choices would NOT be what I would pair with these pants, with the exception of the pink and black.

So, there you have it, ladies. Fellas!!! I have not forgotten you. Although I am not usually a fan of men in pale shades of pink, green, and blue, these are some pretty well put together looks. I threw Don Johnson in there from Miami Vice because I simply could not help it. Ha ha…

Not really my style, but he is OWNING this pastel outfit!!! The polka dot sweater is extremely feminine…if he wore a plain, dark grey sweater, I could see the pants maybe working. Depending on the fella wearing this, it could be awful or great.

Okay, this light blue suit looks like it was MADE for him. The structure is gorgeous and very old school, crooner, Sinatra-esque. I am loving everything about this. The tie and the buttons make it stellar and add a darker pop to a light ensemble.

The one and only Don Johnson, ladies and gentlemen…in ALL of his pastel glory…yikes.

Well, that was a VERY loaded What to Wear Wednesday!! I hope you will find a fun way to wear pastels this upcoming Spring season. E-mail me pictures of you and how you are wearing your pastels and I will post them! Here is a clip of a light-hearted, dancing in the streets song, featuring Jaleel White (a.k.a. Steve Urkel) and some pastel-clad dancers. Love this video! Enjoy, rock those pastels, and live your life BRILLIANTLY!!

One thought on “What To Wear Wednesdays: Pastels

  1. Just so you know….I had my eye looking for pastels as I shopped and strolled today and BY GOLLY, you’re right! They’re everywhere!!!!

    How fun to think that I had a piece of Bekah with me in the mall today!

    Love you Beks!!
    Jina

Leave a comment